Monsta X - The Clan Pt. 2.5 "Beautiful" - Music Review

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

album cover for Monsta X's The clan Pt. 2.5 "Beautiful"

The Clan Pt. 2.5 is Monsta X's first full album and the final chapter in their "The Clan" series.

Tracks & Individual Ratings:

1. Ready or Not - 3/5
2. Beautiful - 4/5
3. Incomparable - 3.5/5
4. Need U - 3/5
5. Oi - 4/5
6. Miss You - 4.5/5
7. Calm Down - 3/5
8. All I Do - 4/5
9. 5-14 (Last Page) - 5/5
10. I'll Be There - 4.5/5

I rated many of these songs a little higher but decreased them after reading the lyrics. Unfortunately, many of the songs are full of your typical cringy boyband lines. Those cringy lyrics do stick with the "Beautiful" theme they were going for, but "5:14 (Last Page)" is proof that they are capable of higher quality songs. I only disliked one of the ten songs ("Calm Down") and songs like "Ready or Not" and "I'll Be There" will probably grow on me in time. My favorites from this LP are currently "Beautiful" and "Miss You", regardless of the cringy lyric problem. Musically, I do believe that Monsta X is close to finding their "trademark sound". Now they just need to mature and perfect it.

With each new release, Monsta X seems to be growing and getting better at merging the two sides they are becoming known for. I find "The CLAN Pt. 2.5" to be their best release thus far.
REALLY looking forward to the dance practice 

Overall Rating: 3.9/5

Artist & Album Information: Spotify

Released: March 21, 2017