Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend by Katie Zhao - Book Review

Sunday, April 10, 2022

book cover of Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend by Katie Zhao


I would like to say a quick thank you to Random House Children's Publishers and Netgalley for providing a digital ARC of Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend for me to read and review!


Winnie Zeng is about to start middle school. This is something she takes very seriously. Regardless of preparing for almost every scenario she can think of, after making mooncakes using her grandmother’s cookbook, she is faced with something she wasn’t able to prepare for. Now, she is forced to choose between saving the world and keeping up with the overwhelming pressure of growing up in an Asian household.


I loved this book and have placed it on my physical book wishlist. The cover is beautiful and was the main reason I decided I wanted to request an ARC. It just screamed, "Hey Sarah! This is a book you are going to devour! Come get it! "


Thankfully, the contents are just as wonderful as the cover. All bookworms know that the best reading experience is the kind when you start reading a book and it just starts flowing as if you are watching a movie. The world disappears, and time no longer exists. Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend did that for me. The characters are all interesting, and the dynamics between them are realistic. I also really love Winnie’s personality. I need the rest of the series immediately!!!


Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend by Katie Zhao is expected to be published on April 26th, 2022.


Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5


Is it worth reading?


Absolutely. A great read regardless of age. This is especially perfect for fans of Turning Red and those interested in Chinese culture.


Book Information:  Goodreads


Author Information: Official SiteGoodreads, Twitter, Instagram, Tik Tok, Youtube